What are international sanctions and which countries am I unable to access banking services from?

International sanctions are restrictions that the Australian Government or the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) impose on activities relating to countries, goods and services, people or entities.

In order to manage risks associated with international sanctions regimes, in some countries you may not be able to use your Visa Debit or Credit Card, or access Online Banking, or the Qudos App. This is because those countries are deemed by Qudos Bank to be high risk.

It is an offence for an Australian entity to facilitate certain types of transactions with sanctioned individuals and/or sanctioned countries on the Australian sanctions list. If you are travelling to these countries we recommend you use a travel money card or foreign cash.

You won’t be able to use your Visa card in the following countries:

  • Cuba​
  • Crimea and Sevastopol 
  • Iran​
  • Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea​)
  • Syria.
  • Central African Republic
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Iraq
  • Lebanon
  • Mali
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Yemen
  •  Myanmar
  • Russia/Ukraine
  • Zimbabwe

If you’re in one of these countries, don’t worry – you can still get in touch with us by calling +61 2 9582 3200  (if the call is permitted to be made from the sanctioned country). Our contact centre operates Mon to Fri 7am-7pm (AEST) and Sat 9am-5pm (AEST). Keep in mind that calls made from overseas will be subject to standard international call rates.

Can't find what you're looking for?

Contact us to speak with a Customer Service Specialist.